Legally Blind

I have really bad eyesight (I think I’m legally blind) so I have to wear glasses. But something I love doing is taking my glasses off at night and driving around. I probably shouldn’t confess this to the Oregon DMV when I apply for my license here.

Things look so majestic with blurred vision. Green, red and yellow traffic lights look like glowing fuzzy cotton balls suspended in mid-air. Street signs become floating canvases of light. Headlights shoot by me like comets. I follow a black asphalt abyss because I can’t see the lines or boundaries. Everything is soft, muted, smoothed over. I don’t know what the point of this entry is. Maybe it’s to encourage all of us to embrace our imperfections because what we lack in some areas creates beauty in others. I think it’s by distorting the obvious that you see the incredible. I also hope I don’t drive off the road in these circumstances.

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.