Sidewalks are Safe

Less than three months until First Comes Love is in stores. I want to celebrate by taking a book tour via yacht or maybe hot air balloon or rocket ship.

For now, here’s another interview with Gray and Dylan:

Gray, what’s your favorite thing about Dylan?

Dylan: I bet it’s my unique fashion taste.
Gray: Right. No one wears ripped baggy jeans and basketball shoes quite like you.
Dylan: I don’t wear basketball shoes.
Gray: Dylan, those black adidas shoes you wear everyday are basketball shoes. They’re high tops. I used to own the same pair in middle school.
Dylan: (shrugs) I like skipping and high tops give me great ankle support.

Hey, Gray and Dylan, could we focus here? Let’s go back to the original question.

Gray: Sorry. My favorite thing about Dylan…well, surprisingly I could list a lot of things here, but I’d have to say it’s her ‘random thought for the day.’ Everyday, she thinks of something…
Dylan: Brilliant? Epic? Poetic?
Gray: More like insane. Watch, I’ll demonstrate. Dylan, let’s hear a random thought.
Dylan: Lately I’ve been thinking about sidewalks and how boring they are.
Gray: Sidewalks?
Dylan: Yeah. Why are they so straight and perfect all the time? Why can’t they zigzag, or be designed in looping figure-eights? Why don’t they have some built-in moguls or sand pits for a little adventure? Why don’t they have a rope tow, so you can wear rollerblades and a rope will pull you around? Wouldn’t that be great?
Gray: (shakes his head)
Dylan: And why can’t sidewalks be colorful? What’s up with all the beige? Beige is the most uncreative color of all times. Why can’t each square be a different color, or painted with a mural so that each piece stands out? Someday, when I own a home, I’m going to get my neighbors together and do something about this sidewalk pandemic.
Gray: Point made.

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in FIRST COMES LOVE, Gray and Dylan. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sidewalks are Safe

  1. Kate says:

    I finished First Comes Love late last night and I absolutely loved it.

Comments are closed.