Interview with JUSTIN SOLVI

Middle Ground will be available in FIVE days. Craaaaaazy. Have you ordered it yet? I just organized my first signing, on December 8th in Corvallis, Oregon at Grass Roots Books and Music.  I will be there from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. to hangout and sign copies of Middle Ground. I will also try to have some paperbacks of Second Chance available. COME AND SEE ME! I WANT TO MEET YOU IN PERSON.

Okay, just for fun, here is an interview with the elusive Justin Solvi. It’s been a while since we’ve heard from him:

Justin Solvi is almost impossible to track down since he doesn’t keep any online profiles. But, he agreed to answer a few questions for some of his fans. Time to shed a little light on one of DSDropout’s most inspiring veterans, and founders:

Is there an invention you’re surprised hasn’t come around yet?

When I was little, I thought there would be underwater cities by the time I grew up.  I’m surprised people aren’t living underwater yet.

What’s your favorite book?

Reflections on the Art of Living, by Joseph Campbell. Every line makes you think.

Can you play an instrument?

Do air drums count? No? Then I can’t play an instrument.

What’s your favorite food?

Chocolate and cheese burgers (not necessarily together).

If there was a zombie apocalypse what superpower would you want to have?

Good question. I’d have to go with invisibility. Zombies have a great sense of smell but in an attack they rely on sight more than anything.

 What is one thing about the world you would like to change?

I think that answer’s pretty obvious.

What’s your favorite trait in a person?

I see potential in people.  If they’re willing to see it too, and embrace it, that’s the most attractive thing to me.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

I’m really bad at settling down in one place.  I always need to be on the move and I’d like to reach a point where I can plant some roots and be okay with that. 

What’s your favorite song?

It’s an oldie. The Love Song by K-OS.

Is it true you have zero online profiles? Don’t you ever feel like an outcast?

Yep, zero. Everyone has their own idea of being social. To me, being social is to be face to face with people. If I’m going to take the time to hang out with someone, I prefer to do it in person. Sometimes I feel like an outcast, but the kind of people I gravitate towards feel the same way, so it works out.

What’s one thing you wish you could bring back from the past?

More rituals, especially around the holidays.  My parents used to throw huge holiday parties at their house and there was music and food and conversation. It’s hard to find those places now and I love being in the presence of people.  People are electrifying.

Is there any one particular person that’s especially electrifying?

(Smile). No comment.

Do you see any positive aspects of technology?

Sure, it can be a great addition to our lives. We can’t live without it. I just don’t want to be forced to live through it all time, like people are in digital school.

What do you do for fun?

If I’m not enjoying something I stop doing it. Period. I have a zero tolerance threshold for anything that isn’t rewarding. So, you could say I’m always having fun.

Okay, then what do you do to unwind?

I like going to clubs, I like live music, and the energy of a room full of people. And I love to cook. I collect recipes and I’m not ashamed to admit it.

You inspire a lot of people.  Who inspires you?

People inspire me when they do the unexpected instead of the expected.  Life is one, long free-fall. It shouldn’t be too programmed.

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interview with JUSTIN SOLVI

  1. Eva says:

    Hi! I loved this book & Awaken! I just finished reading it!!! I swear-my hands were glued to this book. I would love it if you wrote a third one!

  2. Romina. says:

    ”Is there any one particular person that’s especially electrifying?” – MADDIE MADDIE MADDIE! ♥

Comments are closed.