It’s Time to Take a Stand

When I wrote Awaken, I imagined a dystopian future that I would never want to live in. I imagined an unhealthy society overrun with technology, completely plugged in all the time. But that wasn’t the worst of it.

The school shooting in Connecticut on Friday echoed a chapter in my book that gave me the chills. In Awaken, I write about M28, a day in which elementary schools are targeted and many mass killings take place, which ends up leading to a national digital school program. When I wrote this chapter, I envisioned a scenario so dark and extreme that I was sure it would never happen. While I wrote the chapter, I was comforted to think this was fiction. The ultimate lowest a person can go is to murder children. Yet, it’s happening. It did happen. It’s no longer fiction.

When are we going to change the gun rights in the U.S.? The fact that someone so mentally unbalanced had access to at least four automatic weapons is OUR fault. It’s time for a leader to step up and say ENOUGH. It’s time to revisit the Second Amendment, which was written during a time when the U.S. was at war with Britain. People were allowed to own rifles to protect their homes from British invasions. They also owned one shot rifles, which had to be reloaded between every shot. Now, people have access to automatic weapons that can unload 100 bullets in under a minute. We DO NOT NEED TO OWN THESE WEAPONS. Mentally ill people should not have access to these weapons. There was a shooting in Aurora, Colorado, then at a mall in Portland.  Now this. What tragedy needs to happen for there to be a stop to this? Does M28 actually have to happen? God, I hope not.

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Time to Take a Stand

  1. Deb Ray says:

    Katie – I am in total agreement with you. My heart is so very sad and I am really pissed off with all those who hide behind the 2nd amendment! Our founding fathers could never have envisioned a weapon that fires 40+ rounds in less than a minute. We need a sensible, sane and effective discussion about gun safety. We are not talking about taking away the right to hunt and target shoot. But why in God’s name does anyone need an assault weapon – other than our military and law enforcement agencies. The time to say ENOUGH is now and the time to act is NOW.

Comments are closed.