Local Signing Coming Up…

I had the privilege to sit in on two book club discussions of Awaken this month. Here are some photos with me and my readers (featuring a pretty cool pair of socks).

 
0CAVL5EHR

0CAGLK9PA

Thank you to the two lovely book clubs that hosted me (and supplied me with wine, tea, brownies and my favorite—pancakes with whipped cream in dedication to the scene where Maddie eats pancakes for the first time).

I love listening to how people respond to my book—especially to the timely message of technology. Last night, one of the readers said, “We no longer know how to embrace silence.” That comment really struck me. We are so over stimulated with distractions all the time, we don’t know how to unplug and be still. We rarely are ever in the moment as we text and email and try to be twenty places at once.

As a writer, I struggle with technology because there are so many benefits to social networking. I’ve met some amazing fans, I get to Skype with classrooms, and it’s great publicity. But, I really struggle with my online presence(s). I would much rather be outside than be on my computer tweeting, or online updating my stupid status all the time. I don’t know why we feel the need to have such strong online billboard advertisements of ourselves, announcing ourselves all the time. It’s very self-fulfilling and I guess, my response is, who cares? Go outside. Take a walk. Do something for someone else. Volunteer in your community. Cook a meal for a family with little kids that could use your help. Help your neighbor paint their house. And after you do it, don’t announce to the world that you did it. You don’t need a hundred “likes” to feel justified. Do you?

If people unplugged for an hour each day and invested that time in others—wow. Now that is what I call being social.

Speaking of being social, I have a couple of events coming up in Oregon before I move East. So, for any of you that live in the Oregon area, come and meet me on May 11th, at Grass Roots Books and Music from 11 am to 1 pm. First Comes Love (a finalist for the Oregon Book Award), will be in paperback, and my other books will be there as well. Buy ahead for Christmas presents! 🙂  I will also be signing with fellow YA author (and Oregonian) Lisa Burnstein. Come down and hang out!

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Local Signing Coming Up…

  1. Robin says:

    I am trying to see how I can purchase the book second chance. I have a Nook with Barnes and Noble and this is the only book that is not published or for sale through them??? I am very confused because everyone of your books is available for sale but that one. Please let me know how I can purchase it because I am dying to read the second book and I would either have to buy a Kindle or buy the hardcopy and I really don’t want to buy a hardcopy because I love downloading my books on my NOOK.

    Thanks so much,

    Robin Jordan

Comments are closed.