On Mother’s Day

I am an escape artist. That is my superpower. I am able to escape any situation–not physically, but I leave with my mind. 

I’ve always had the power to drift, to daydream, to imagine my way out of situations that are boring or stifling (I think it’s how I made my way through high school).

I tend to daydream more than I actually live in the moment. Whenever I’m bored, nervous, uncomfortable, or uninspired, I just imagine my way out of the situation. It definitely makes writing come naturally.

The other day one of my friends pointed out that I love extreme people. This is true. All of my best friends are on the extreme side. Extremely weird or extremely ambitious or extremely flawed or extremely inappropriate. I like that. It holds my attention.

But, lately I’ve had a problem escaping. It’s not that I can’t escape, it’s that, probably for the first time in my life, I don’t want to. I have two amazing balls of energy around me–a little girl that never stops smiling and a little boy that makes me laugh so hard I’m crying on a daily basis. I don’t want to mentally stray from them.  I want them next to me every second. I want to strap them to me, like a second skin, like armor, like a shell or a nest.

It’s strange to want to be “here,” so much of the time, to rarely feel the pull to daydream. For mother’s day, I want to give my kids the greatest compliment I can offer:  You make the moment greater than one I can even imagine. Thank you.

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.