THEME SONGS

Last night I had a blast talking about writing inspiration with fellow YA authors Lisa Burstein and soon-to-be-published Bryan Bliss. We each discussed what drives our writing muse. Bryan talked about movies and screenplays, Lisa discussed photos, and I talked about music. The audience was hilarious–thanks to everyone who showed up.

During my discussion I admitted something I hadn’t even realized—that I give all my characters theme songs. It’s my way of understanding them and getting in their heads in order to write their story. It’s part of my writing process. If I’m distracted, or if I haven’t written for a few days, I play my character’s theme songs, and BAM, I’m in their heads, I’m walking around in their converse tennis shoes.

Here are Maddie and Justin’s theme songs. I think the energy, lyrics and rhythm match the thoughts and energy of these characters. What’s your theme song? Mine is probably written by Eminem. He likes to rage.

P.S. Any of you have music recommendations for me? I’m always taking them. Music is my muse.

Justin’s Theme Song:   The Love Song, performed by K-OS

Madeline’s Theme Song:   I Feel It All, performed by Feist

 

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to THEME SONGS

  1. Romina. says:

    My theme song.. hm.
    Good question.
    First, the theme Songs of Maddie & Justin are wonderful, I love them.
    And my theme Song… Maybe ”In My Head” (Loreen) because I think about every conversation, every person, every book (especially yours), every insult, every detail of one day in the evening after.
    Or something from Linkin Park.
    Well, that is actually on my feeling at this moment.

Comments are closed.