PINK

Hey Everybody,

Here are some pictures from the YA author event at Klindt’s Booksellers this weekend. There were twelve authors there, all amazing, all so kind and funny and wonderful. It is such a blessing to be in this business; I really meet the coolest people. The booksellers at Klindt’s (Angela and Tina) are extended family to me. I love these women for their passion, their vision and their energy to embrace books and their community.

One thing that has surprised me over the years is authors are CHATTY. I used to think writers would be shy and quiet and introverted, bordering on awkward. But I couldn’t have been more wrong. We have a lot of ideas in our heads–I mean, we freaking write books. Our brains are always going. We have a lot to say, so trying to get a writer to shut up is the challenge. We tend to ramble. Speaking of rambling, I’ll get to the pictures now:

The authors:
789_600953119928444_372237060_n[1]

Inside at Klindt’s:
936141_600954783261611_730726272_n[1]

My soul sister, Angela, the most passionate book lover in existence:
960013_600952689928487_1557281914_n[1]

Other news…I’m still waiting to hear from Houghton Mifflin about an offer for Awaken #3. When I got an offer for my first book, I got a tattoo to celebrate. For my second book, I bought tickets to Los Angeles to see Ryan Adams in concert. For Awaken #3, the plan is to dye my hair…pink. Not all of it, just a streak. This might not sound like a big deal to you, but I haven’t dyed my hair since high school, which was an awful experience (it turns out black is not my best color, especially when it fades to gray-ish green–it wasn’t a great way to spend my senior year). So, I’m hoping it goes better this time. I just want to make Maddie proud.

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.