TEN WAYS TO GET AWAKEN #3 IN YOUR HANDS:

Hey Everybody.

My agent and editor are currently reviewing Awaken #3. This is one of the scariest moments in an author’s career, the SUBMISSISION process where people start to critically examine your work. My publisher, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, has yet to make an offer on this book. I asked my editor what’s holding them up, and what can I be doing on my end to speed things along. She said to just keep spreading the word about this series.

So, I have compiled a list of ten things you can all be doing to help spread the word about Awaken.

1. Carry a copy of Awaken (or Middle Ground) with you at all times and make out with it in public places. People will definitely ask you why you’re making out with a book cover; it’s an easy way to get noticed and generate conversation.
2. Ask your local bookseller to stock it. Offer to make out with your local bookseller if they agree to carry multiple copies. If your local bookseller is hot and ends up being a really good kisser and you fall madly in love, than you can thank me at your wedding.
3. Tweet about it. Tumble about it. Trot about it.
4. Write and record an original song inspired by Awaken, post it on YouTube and have it go viral. That would be cool. Maybe you’ll sign a music deal. I would buy your album.
5. Call Steven Spielberg, and tell him to buy the film rights to Awaken. Publicity will then be handled by Warner Brothers or Universal Studios or another mega-movie-marketing-mothership, so your job will be done.
6. Bieber Fever. I just wanted to write that.
7. Tattoo the cover art of Awaken to your face, that way if you don’t really like talking to people you will still get the point across that you love this book.
8. Recommend it to friends, boyfriends, neighbors, even animals. Do we know if dogs like to read? Have we tapped into that market yet? What is stopping us?
9. Talk to people about it. Face to face. It’s this old fashioned form of communicating, where you use your lips and voice to make sounds that are words. It’s a dying form of communication, but some people still do it.
10. Okay, you can text people about it too.

Alright, I provided plenty of practical suggestions. I hope to have some exciting news to share soon.

-Kaz

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to TEN WAYS TO GET AWAKEN #3 IN YOUR HANDS:

  1. Arely Z. says:

    I love the first suggestion and the second. I’ll make sure to tell people about it 😀

  2. Abbey says:

    I honestly never knew how one single book could have so much impact on me. When I first read awaken back in November I couldn’t put it down. I remember my mom yelling at me to come downstairs and give the reading a rest, but I couldn’t. After reading awaken I needed answer so I googled if there would be a seqeal. Thank god the 2nd book in the of the series had come out just 2 days before. I immediately read ordered it off of amazon! Thanks to YOUR amazing writing I love to read. I have found a true passion. And I just want to let you know how much your books have impacted my life. I want awaken to become a movie! Keep on writing! You’re amazing!

  3. Romina. says:

    OOOOOOH MY GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOODDDDD!
    When will Awaken #3 translated into German? And what about the cover? As it says? :DD Love you! ♥

  4. Cassondra says:

    I NEED THIS RIGHT NOW. I CAN’T WAIT ANY LONGER KATIE I SERIOUSLY JUST WANT THIS BOOK NOOOOW. Btw I love you.

  5. Teresa says:

    Hi,
    I told a friend about the book, she bought it and know she is just talking about it (btw I don’t stop talking about it neither). It is funny how we both love it. I think in no time everyone will love your books, especially awaken.
    Your writing is great!

    Teresa

  6. Tara says:

    These books were AMAZING! I LOVED them and I couldn’t put them down. I’ve never read a book in one day. You are my favourite writer and I can’t wait to read more. Everyone I have recommend these books have LOVED them as well. Love the way you write. I hope the third book gets published soon

    Tara

  7. beebee says:

    BEST BOOK EVER!!
    i was never a reader but after reading your book i fell inlove with it
    i was so inlove with it that i bought the book online and had it sent to australia!! > <
    i hope it becomes a movie
    btw did i say that i love your books!!

Comments are closed.