GET UNPLUGGED MONTH

It’s official. August is GET UNPLUGGED month. It’s a new, world-wide movement to spend a little time away from our digitally centered lives. Okay, it’s not a world-wide movement, but I’m starting it. August is the perfect month to get unplugged. It’s warm, it’s the last few weeks before school starts, it’s the perfect time to be outside, to be traveling, to be hanging out with friends.

Here’s my challenge to you: turn your phone off for a couple hours everyday, announce on Facebook that you will NOT be updating your status, limit your texting to one hour a day, turn off the TV, whatever it is that sucks so much of your time. Use that time to try a new hobby, volunteer, get outside, or read all the books I’ve ever written. Get to know that guy/girl you have a crush on IN PERSON. It’s so much better.

Email me what you do with all your new, wonderful spare time: katiekacvinsky(at)uwalumni(dot)com

 

Challenge everyone you know to do this–make it a competition with your friends. Award points for the hours you get unplugged, extra bonus points for staying off of Facebook…whatever you imagine. (Sorry, this is my inner athlete coming through) And if any of you manage to get unplugged for the entire month, I might have to feature you on my website.

Get Unplugged AND Tell Me About It<p

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GET UNPLUGGED MONTH

  1. Sammi says:

    Every Power?

Comments are closed.