TITLE:

Title

Thanks again to everyone who participated in trying to guess the title to Awaken #3. The most popular picks were Deeper Word, Deeper Wave, and Seventh Wave. However, none of those guesses are right.

One person guessed the title correctly. The title of this book is…drum roll…STILL POINT. And here’s why:

If you listen to the Sting song, Love is the Seventh Wave, the music is upbeat. Steel drums, reggae sound, light melody. But it has intense lyrics. There is a serious message behind the happy music. My favorite part of the song is when the music fades out, except for some pounding drums, and Sting sings: “In the still point of destruction, in the center of the fury, all the angels, all the devils, all around us, can’t you see?” This sentence really stood out to me. I love that Sting focused on this line, and even used music to emphasize it, as if it was written in bold writing and starred and highlighted. There is so much to consider in these words.

For me, I like the idea of a still point; a single moment in our lives where time seems to stand still and something pivotal is about to happen that will alter our path. A still point can be as simple as meeting someone you connect with, it can be about starting a new job, or making a huge decision. It can be an unexpected tragedy. Basically, it’s a moment that changes us forever. But it’s the still points that define us and show our true character. We can run from them, deny them, fear them, or embrace them. And the question that always gets me is, do we really have control over the still points? Is it some higher power, messing with us? Is it fate?

Maddie has quite a few still points in this book, moments where she has to choose, moments that take her by surprise, moments that are tragic and shape and turn and twist her life.

As I was considering a title for this book, the idea of a still point really stuck out to me, and I weaved the idea throughout the novel. So, there you have it, a long winded explanation of why I chose these words to help define my story. I can’t wait for you to read Still Point! I’m including the Sting song again, in case you want to hear it.

Finally, the mysterious person who guessed the title correctly, please comment below with an email address so we can set up a Skype date! Congrats!

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to TITLE:

  1. Katie S. says:

    Oh my gosh I love the title! CANT WAIT I just reread Awaken again haha 🙂

  2. Oh, how we miss you at Imagine Coffee! And I’m SO anxious to read Still Point. Think of you guys constantly. Here’s to another book… and more chapters in your life!

  3. Joe D. says:

    YAY, really love the title 🙂
    Hope it will be released in German, too- even if I read it in English 🙂
    Thank you, katie- again- for these awesome books!

  4. Teeleedee says:

    When is the book being released?

  5. Molly says:

    Is it already out or? I really want to read it and I still have NO clue if it’s even out and if so, where i would find it. I know how new books are harder to find right away but I love these books so much!!!

  6. Pingback: Happy Book Birthday, STILL POINT | the official website of KATIE KACVINSKY

Comments are closed.