Short Story

Hello! I realized today why fall is actually called fall–because everything is falling right now–rain, leaves, branches, twigs, the sun’s position in the sky, needles, walnuts, pinecones, and acorns. Hopefully soon the rain will switch to snow. I haven’t had a snowy winter in six years.
Anyway, today I wanted to post a teaser for my short story, Maddie’s Tattoo, which will be available to read on December 27th. I know it might seem ridiculous to set a release date for a short story, but if I don’t give myself writing deadlines then I would get nothing done (and we wouldn’t want that). Also, I like to be ridiculous whenever possible.
This short story is a prequel to Awaken, and it takes place when Maddie was fourteen. It helps explain some of Maddie’s decisions and actions in Still Point. You don’t have to read it to understand Still Point, but you will be a much wiser, much awesomer person if you do. Here is the teaser. If you are a blogger, book fanatic or extremely popular, please spread the word and feel free to share this teaser.

When I was fifteen years old, I stole confidential government files from my father’s computer and gave them to DS protestors, landing me three years of probation and a lifestyle similar to house arrest. But what I wouldn’t understand until years later is my life really changed six months before that, when I signed up to tour an art museum. That day was dangerous because I made a friend. A friend who did more than dare me, push me, pull me, convince or persuade me. He did the most dangerous thing a person can do. He inspired me.

Wahhooo! Sound cool? I can’t wait to release it!

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Short Story

  1. Riya Anand says:

    Sound cool?? It sounds awesome!! I really can’t wait. When I was reading Awaken I was a little confused in the beginning and was hoping for a little background info on Maddie and I am finally getting it. I AM SO HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Joe D. says:

    It sounds so awesome!!!! Wanna have it. Now!
    But I like to hear there will be a background story, because I like every story that makes the story of Maddie last longer ❤

  3. Tara says:

    Very Cool! When is Still Point going to be available?

    Tara

Comments are closed.