More Love

Hey,

I’ve had many fans beg and plead me not to kill off Maddie or Justin in STILL POINT. I’ve noticed that ending a series in utter tragedy gets very mixed reviews. I have also noticed that leaving a series too open-ended is not a popular option either. It appears that everyone wants the Hollywood ending, even while reading dark, disturbing, violent, death-driven, dystopian fiction. But I see where you’re coming from. I’ll keep your concerns in mind. Pinkie swear.

I mentally wrote Still Point years ago–I had it all planned out neatly in my head, like my own little road map to follow. But my characters took me on a different journey. They always do, and that is my favorite part about writing–the unexpected turns, the detours and the surprising destinations. As writers, we will never make all of our readers happy. Man, I learned that fact quickly in this business. All we can do is stay true to our characters and the story. If we force a certain ending, we sell out. If we try too hard, our audience suspects it. I think authors feel a little more pressure when they end a trilogy versus a stand-alone. There is so much more invested. I wrote what I believe is the most fitting ending for this book, and if Maddie and Justin were interviewed, I think they would agree.

Other news: Two more sites are helping out to promote Awaken this month: A Life Bound By Books, AND RT Book Reviews. Hugely excited to add these sites to my roster of Team Awesome (featured below). Thanks so much for your support!

RT Book Reviews
A Life Bound by Books
Swoony Boy Podcast
Good Choice Reading
Apocalypse Reads
Jacque’s Book Nook
The Story Siren
Novel Novice
Stuck in YA
The Reading Date
Actin’ Up With Books
Please Another Book!

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.