The wait is over…

I’m ecstatic to announce that I have officially downloaded Maddie’s Tattoo, the Awaken short story, on AMAZON, KOBO, and NOOK. Each site claims it can take up to twenty-four hours for a book to become available, but in the ludicrous speed world of the internet, they are most likely available now (a day early, yes, you’re welcome). This short story will not be available in print. Also, at this point there is only an English translation available. So, to all of my wonderful international readers, you will have to pick your way through the English version, or find a friend that can read English and make them read it to you! Reading stories out loud is the best way to hear them anyway.

Here is a release design that one of my fans sent me. Pretty awesome? Thank you, Charlotte!
IMG_6226

Here is a quick background into the inspiration for this short story:

When I was fourteen years old, during my freshman year of high school, I went on a class trip to tour the Art Institute of Chicago. It was the first time I had ever left the state limits without my parents. I loved that I could walk around without anyone watching over my shoulder, checking up on me, or looking after me. I loved being in a big city—the people, the energy, the bustle. I loved the art paintings. They invited me to walk around in worlds beyond the scope of my imagination. They told so many stories. They broadened my safe, sheltered life. And they made me crave more. They made me wonder what was beyond my small town limits, my high school, the only world I ever knew. That museum, in a way, woke me up just like it wakes up Maddie in this story. I realized how much I was missing. I wanted to feel more, I wanted to experience. I wanted to grow. Best of all, I wanted to imagine a life different from my own.

So, that is the inspiration for this piece. I hope you enjoy it. And, you will most likely want to reread it after you read Still Point. You’ll find out why.

MTcoverart

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The wait is over…

  1. Lemon says:

    It’s not a problem that “Maddie’s Tattoo” will not be translated in my language. It’s horrible that there won’t be available in print. I hate e-books. They are sort of destroying REAL books. I am afraid to live in a world like Maddie’s were there are no books made of paper 😦
    Whatever. Can you tell me weather “Second Chance” will be translated into German? I can’t find any information about that topic on the internet.
    Finally I need to tell you that I love your books and even though they will not be translated neither will become a REAL book I will read them ’cause I love the way you write.

    Greatings from Germany!

  2. Maddie Leser says:

    Hello Lemon,

    wait a few months,, hold your fingers crossed and ask Ulrike Nolte if she translated “Maddies Tattoo” into german, than it gives the chance, that this short story could become part of the german version from “Still Point” or “Maddie 3”
    I think around Chrismas 2014 this book will come in german version, too.
    Many german fans a waiting for this book. They all will know, how the life from Maddie will go on.

    Paper books will not destroyed from e-books, and if you buy your books at a bookstore and tell the people around you to do so, too, they don’t must close.
    If bookstores could sell books, they be able to make money with, and have the chance to be open on.

    The book you ask for, I don’t know. But I think it will be better to ask the german editor or the translator (Ulrike Nolte), they will know better if or when this book will come.

    At the moment, I have read only the translated version, and a short part of the “look inside” of “maddie’s tattoo” at amazon.com. But when I get a giftcard of amazon.de I will buy the e-books of “Awaken”-serie.

    To read the originals is one of my goals for 2014.

    Also greetings from Germany
    Maddie Leser

    PS:
    @Katie Kacvinsky and all of her fans
    Have a good start into 2014, Happy New Year.

    PS2:
    The site from the german translator of Maddie: www. ulrike-nolte.de/mail.htm
    There you find her email-address.

  3. Maddie Leser says:

    Hello Katie Kacvinsky,

    is it possible to bring a interview together with the Model from the german cover of “Maddie”?
    As I found at a model-site, she lives in the United States. It would be great, to see photos from you together with her. I don’t know, if she knowes from her success as Maddie.

    Greetings
    Maddie Leser

  4. peachroseluvr says:

    Just found out about this!!! Heading to get it now! Very Excited!!!! 🙂

Comments are closed.