Anna Begins

I met Adam Duritz once, the lead singer of Counting Crows. He was hanging out at a coffee shop in Los Angeles, my favorite coffee shop at the time. It was called The Coffee House. It was on Sunset Boulevard, across the street from The Comedy Store (a stand up comedy club where I worked as a cocktail waitress, until they discovered I was under the legal age to sell liquor in California, so they had to “let me go.”). Adam actually co-owned the coffee shop at the time. It had a VIP room, which didn’t surprise me because everywhere in L.A. has a VIP room. Sadly, it’s not there anymore. I think it’s something really depressing now, like a dog spa or a sushi restaurant.

Adam was extremely cool when I met him, and I tried to swallow the star struck knot in my throat and ask him a few questions. I asked him who some of his favorite artists were, and he mentioned Miles Davis and Ani Difranco. I confessed my favorite song of his is ANNA BEGINS. I love that song. I love the open ended image at the end of the song. And I asked him, “Adam, what happens at the end of that song? Does Anna leave him?”
Adam shook his head and smiled, this kind of sad, knowing smile and he said, “No, he leaves her. He walks away at the end.” I remember getting the chills when he told me that.

“He pushed her away,” I said and Adam nodded. It changed the song for me, and I love it even more. It’s so real. It shows how complicated relationships can be. It also inspired so much of Gray and Dylan’s story in Second Chance. I’m only bringing this up because Gray will refer to this song in Finally, Forever. You need to listen to it. You need to play it extremely loud in your car, at night, and get on a road where you can drive fast (I think music is at its best this way). Or, you can also click the link below. 🙂

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.