Music, People

Yo. This weekend I invested in some headphones. This is a critical purchase to make, since music infuses so much of my life and my writing. I researched online and felt overwhelmed and lost in a sea of reviews. So then I went downtown and did what I do best: asked a random stranger A LOT of questions. Which got us talking about music. Pretty soon this stranger and I were sharing playlists. He had a very wide range of musical taste (I mean, the guy had Ottis Redding next to Old Dirty Bastard). He also introduced me to Matt and Kim. Have you heard of this group? Their videos are brilliant, and their song Cameras has officially been added to the Finally, Forever playlist.

Oh, and another very important bit of news. I watched an incredible movie this weekend. Those two or three of you who have been following me for a while know that I have a healthy obsession with the TV show How I Met Your Mother. So, this weekend I had to check out Josh Radnor’s other work. He is a writer and director. He also plays Ted Mosby on HIMYM. I finally watched his latest film, Liberal Arts and can I just say, it was one of the BEST films I have seen in years? It is smart, it is funny, and it combines a passion of books and music that had me jumping up and down at certain points, screaming for more. PLEASE watch this film if you haven’t yet, and write Josh a letter, thanking him for taking the time to write something real and beautiful. It’s a movie that will do more than entertain you–it will make you ask questions, it will make you think, it will make you sigh, it will make you pull your hair with frustration. But more than anything, it will inspire you. Thank you Josh, for making this amazing movie!

Alright, here is the latest song, CAMERAS, by Matt and Kim. (And in case you care, the headphones I got are Sol Republic. If you want more info, check out this site. They’re awesome.)

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.