Book Six = DONE

How was your weekend? Mine was extremely productive. My parents babysat my kids for the entire weekend and I got to dive into my writing zone. I wrote for about twenty-five hours and finished the final draft of FINALLY, FOREVER.

Rock. On.

My kids are so blessed to have wonderful grandparents who help out! I simply would not have finished Finally, Forever without their help and support. Writing takes time–lots and lots of time in order to do it well. It takes insane concentration. It takes uninterrupted space. These things do not exist in a home full of young, energetic, curious little creatures.

Last week I also had the privileged to visit Lodi Middle School, where I talked to 6th-8th graders. The entire sixth grade class made a “question train.” They wrote one question for me on a piece of paper (with an illustration, of course) and taped it across the hallway in their school. It was amazing to walk passed over one hundred sheets of questions about my books and characters (and it was a very cool lesson idea, nice work Ms. Dean!) Each class made posters to welcome me. One student gave me a present; a bag of string cheese (way to do your research!). Other than the creepy baby that stared at me while I was talking (dude, what was up with that doll?), it was a wonderful day and I hope I inspired the kids to read and to write and, most importantly, to embrace their weird thoughts.

Here is the latest song from the Finally, Forever playlist. I can’t believe this book is coming out in TWO MONTHS. Did I mention it’s a stand-alone? Yep. No prior reading is required. To get you up to date, here are the other songs from the playlist:

1. OMAHA (and ANNA BEGINS) by COUNTING CROWS
2. YOUR WILDEST DREAMS by THE MOODY BLUES
3. TWO ATOMS IN A MOLECULE by NOAH AND THE WHALE
4. EVERLASTING ARMS by VAMPIRE WEEKEND
5. CAMERAS by MATT AND KIM

Here is today’s addition. It’s very Dylan–upbeat, wild, happy. I listened to this song to help tap into Dylan’s brain.
IKO IKO by THE BELLE STARS

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.