STILL POINT COVER REVEAL

For those of you who follow me on Facebook, or Twitter, you have probably already seen this, but I wanted to officially reveal the cover of STILL POINT, the final book in the AWAKEN trilogy.

STILLPOINT_coverFINAL

Gorgeous, right? I want to frame it. The more I look at the design, the more it makes me think. I love the hand behind the pixelated screen—that is definitely my favorite element, and very fitting to the story. What do you guys think?

For all of my German fans, I will post news about the German release date as soon as I hear it (yes, it WILL be released in German translation). The US release date is:
September 2nd. It’s available to preorder now, through the usual links: Barnes and Noble, Amazon…wherever you prefer to shop.

There is something else you need to know about this book. As of right now, STILL POINT is scheduled as an Ebook only release (I’m talking about the US edition). Yes, this means it will only be available to read in a digital format. It’s a bit ironic, since my series is about an anti-digital movement, yet you will only be able to read it using a digital device. I am hoping and praying that a print edition becomes available, but honestly, that is up to YOU. My READERS and my FANS. The more you help to spread the word about this series, the better are the chances a print book will be published. If I can get enough preorders of STILL POINT, it would definitely encourage HMH to publish the print copies sooner. I am still bugging them (politely) and my editor is trying very hard to make a print edition possible. But, like I said, it’s up to my readers and fans to help make it happen.

You could even send HMH a kind Twitter message, asking them (or begging, or bribing them) to make a print edition available! (Their handle is @HMHKids)

Why isn’t there currently plans for a print book? Well, the answer’s simple. It comes down to sales. The print editions of MIDDLE GROUND didn’t sell very well, but the ebook sales for this series has always been strong. When my agent and I pitched STILL POINT, Houghton Mifflin teeter-tottered over whether to take on the last book of the series. My editor, Julia Richardson, loved the manuscript and was able to make an offer. But it was an ebook only offer. HMH still owns the print rights, so I can’t make the book available by print-on-demand. That is why it is up to you to spread the word and get people talking about this must-read series. Help me make this print book a reality! I really, really want to hold this book in my arms.

How do I feel about this decision? At first I was disappointed. Obviously every writer wants to see their books and words in print. I mean, I don’t even read ebooks. But…I feel like the pros outweigh the cons. I got to work with an AMAZING editor on this book. Julia Richardson is my coach and my greatest writing teacher. I’m thrilled I got to write an entire series with her and finish off Maddie’s story. I feel privileged and blessed to have a publishing team behind me. After trying out self publishing, which has its own perks, what it lacks is a TEAM. A team of talented editors, designers, copy editors, agents…all the components that take a sloppy manuscript and help to make it shine. I want to produce quality writing. That’s what it comes down to.

And the best news of all is: I LOVE THIS BOOK. I do. So much. It might be my favorite book in the series. I don’t really reread my books after I publish them but I seriously CAN’T WAIT to reread STILL POINT. Yes, I will even go so far as to read it digitally. Because I’m very proud of this book. There are so many poignant scenes and messages that will truly make you think. There are new characters to meet. There is action, there is romance. Lots of good drama. I can’t wait for you to read it.

So, get online, get plugged in and preorder this book! (But, as soon as you’re done reading it, go outside, take a walk, talk to someone face-to-face, and always be in the moment). 🙂

~Katie

 

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to STILL POINT COVER REVEAL

  1. Regine says:

    I never read ebooks, so I hope the book comes out in a print form because I really want to know how the story ends!

  2. Julia says:

    I would honestly read this book in any format it comes out, though I also prefer the print versions. Just imagine a book with this cover, in hardback! 🙂 Beau.ti.ful. But as I said, I will buy the e-book the minute it comes out!! So looking forward to it!

  3. Sarah Zitrone says:

    If I had a ebook I’d definitely preorder STILL POINT. But I haven’t. It is really sad that it won’t be available in print. I don’t like e-books at all. I don’t like being forced to buy an e-reader and to use it. I need something to put into my shelf. I’ll definitely spam HMH on twitter. I NEED a printed version. It’s not fair not to print it!

    About the German version: Is it also going to be an e-book?

  4. bella says:

    I LOVE YOUR SERIOUS SO MUCH!!!!!!!!! AND I HAVE SO MANY FRIEND WHO LOVE THE AWAKEN SERIES!!!!!!!!!! STILL POINT HAS TO BE IN A HARD COPY!!!!!!!

  5. Anja says:

    Wow, the release date is my birthday! 😀
    But I’m from Germany too, so I guess, I’ll have to wait a bit longer..
    But I think it’s gonna be worth it! 🙂

  6. Maddie says:

    Hallo I am from Germany and I absolutly love your series!! It’s my favorite book of all time!:D I hope it will be released soon in Germany!:) I totaly agree with bella it have to be released in a hard copy!!

  7. Haley says:

    Ms. Kackvinsky, you are an inspiration to me and my writings. I really want to become a great writer like you. Your Awaken series is AMAZING! Maddie is a role-model for me (even though she is only fictional, but you never know…). I have my own Nook Simple Touch and cannot wait for it to come out on e-reading, but for everybody’s sanity, I do hope it comes out as a Hard Copy. I also hope one day I can write such fantastic stories as you! I will venture deeper into your other novels. Keep on writing!

  8. Haley says:

    One more thing, Ms. Kackvinsky, I do hope that your Awaken series inspires a movie. Yes, I agree that the books are ALWAYS better than the movies but it would be such a pleasure to see your works on the big screen. 🙂

  9. Jill Gilbert says:

    I teach 8th grade English and have _Awaken_ in my classroom library. Several of my students loved it and were eager to read _Middle Ground_, so I checked it out of our public library for them! (I don’t have a budget to buy books). I don’t know how I could get an ebook to my students. We are a poor, inner-city school. Keep writing – your books are GREAT!!!

  10. Maddie Leser says:

    Still Point comes soon … great news!
    I think the German version will come in print and eBook. And if enought fans asking Bastei Lübbe, they will help HMH to publish the print version also for German Market. Many years ago that was a big success for another publisher, starting with Harry Potter 4. When it’s possible to buy Still Point print in a German bookstore, then I will buy it. Shipping from US becomes to expensive.
    I’m also interested in Awaken and Middle Ground. At the moment, I know only “Die Rebellion der Maddie Freeman” and “Maddie – Der Widerstand geht weiter”. I’m waiting for Maddie 3 equal, if I have the chance to read Still Point or not.
    Beginning with Harry Potter 4 to 7 I’ve read Harry Potter in english and german!
    One or two Harry Potter was english languaged a so big success in Germany, that this book(s) comes in english language in the german Spiegel-Bestsellerliste.
    I’ve also seen the most of the Harry Potter movies.
    If it’s possible it would be great, when HMH and Bastei Lübbe (Boje / Baumhaus) brings out an bilinguable version of this boos in german and english. I imagine this for the future in a few years.
    If it becomes thruth? I don’t know, but I hope.
    I wish Still Point a big success, and hope, sometime will come Awaken 4. 🙂
    Greetings from Germany

  11. katnissdean says:

    Hi! 🙂 I am also a german reader – so I’m sorry, but there will be some mistakes 😉 I send a tweet to HMH and hopefully there will be a printversion!! That would be so great. I read your first book of Maddie in german but orderderd today Awaken and Middle Ground in the original version. So hopefully there will be any third book for my shelf in the future.

    The cover of Still Point ist really beautiful. I like it very much 🙂

  12. Teeleedee says:

    Just wondering why Still Point isn’t avaiable to pre-order in iBooks (Apple Store)? Would love to pre-order. Your series should be on the New York Best Seller List. It is amazing!

    Tara

  13. Kelsey McFee says:

    I hope that Still Point will come out in print!!! I have them all in print! Can’t wait for the street team too!!

  14. Adhvi says:

    Well I’m a bit disappointed now, cause I thought this entire time it would be an actual printed book since I never saw this post (I was on vacation for a while with really bad internet). I’ve been going around telling all my friends and family I am hitting Barnes & Nobel on September second! I just read on goodreads that it was only an ebook and I flipped! then I read this post to see if it as true and unfortunately it is 😦 But whatever I’ll still get to read it and I CAN’T WAIT! I’m definitely pre-ordering it 😀

  15. Lisa says:

    First of all I really love your books – especially the awaken series. So, I was thrilled when I found out about Still Point.
    The release date was three days ago, but unfortunately I do live in Germany and I can’t find the English version of Still Point at the German Kindle eBooks Shop.

    After I’ve been going on my family’s nerves for the past few days, complaining about how bad I want to read this book, I decided to ask you about it.

    Do you know where I can get it?

    Thank you so much, not only for writing such awesome books, but for inspiring me in a million different ways!

  16. Pamela says:

    I love this series and all my friends. Do as well… Its such a disapointment that it won’t be printed !!!

  17. Pingback: REVIEW: Still Point by Katie Kacvinsky |

  18. Allyssa says:

    Dear Katie, I fell in love with your series from awaken. I don’t usually read books because I’ve always been so busy and I’ve also never found many books that have caught my attention. But as for you and your books, I couldn’t put them down. In the span of a month I manged to find both Awaken and Middle Ground, and read through them as I was addicted to some type of drug. I’ve been dying to and extremely anxious to read Still point. I was devastated when I thought Middle Ground was the final book, because I wanted to keep reading. As you’ve announced, the digital copy is released of Still Point, I like to keep the illusion of being disconnected while I read, fully letting myself escape in the book. I refuse to read the digital copy and rather a paper back. In hopes that it will be released shortly, I don’t have to wait much longer to continue enjoying your work! Keep posting on updates to the books release, and I hope to join Maddy, Justin and the rest of the crew soon!

  19. justin solvi says:

    I honestly just absolutely adore this series! You are such a talented writer!

  20. NoName says:

    I’m really looking forward to read the german translation;) Don’t get why people buy ebooks, I can’t even concentrate my eyes for half an hour on these readers. Hopefully the real books won’t die in some years like your trilogy predicted.

  21. karen says:

    Hi
    As a mum of two teenage girls (and younger daughter) I had not had much time to read since starting a family. However my daughters avid description of another well known dystopian novel got me intrigued and I have not stopped since. Over the past five years I have trawled the net looking, in particular, for dystopian novels and that’s when I stumbled on Awaken. What a find ! It had me hooked from the outset, and I was completely immersed in the characters. I was distraught at having to wait so long for middle ground but it was well worth the wait ! and hugely disappointed that still point was an e book as I am old fashioned and just don’t enjoy the reading experience as much. There’s nothing better than turning a page! However I have hung off to see if this book will come out in print, but can wait no longer and so for the very first time I will be downloading onto my kobo (I was bought one but it never gets used!) .
    Given the nature of this Trilogy, It would be a great addition to see this book brought in to schools here in the Scotland, as I have read this has already been done in some of the us schools.
    I love collecting the books I really enjoy reading and this is a definite favourite.What also drew me to Awaken was the illustrated cover and another reason for disappointment at not being able to have still point, such a beautiful cover. I will be emailing the publisher as I hope many of your other fans have done to express my desire that this book be put into print.
    I look forward to reading your other novels.

  22. cyndi says:

    I really hope the publisher publishes the print version of this book. i really want to read it on PRINT

Comments are closed.