A HIGH NOTE

I had the really cool opportunity to attend the Austin Film Festival a few weeks ago. Even cooler, my comedy script, A HIGH NOTE, made into the semifinals (top twenty), so I got to sit in on a bunch of writer panels and film discussions. I was able to meet so many amazing script writers, including the writer of TRADING PLACES, one of my favorite comedies of all times. That was euphoric.

As a lot of you know who follow this blog, I’ve been spending the last year studying scripts and script writing. Writing a script is something I’ve always wanted to do, and like my inner Dylan, if there’s something I want to pursue, no matter how random or ridiculous, I go for it. Because life is too short to hold back on anything inspiring.

In case you’re wondering what the heck A HIGH NOTE is about, think HIGH FIDELITY meets SAY ANYTHING and you’re on the right track. It’s a story about music, relationships, and how the two tie together. Here is a brief description (aka, logline):

Frank McCabe, a reclusive musician and lyric connoisseur who owns a guitar shop in Los Angeles, is sought out by Luna, a single mom and struggling performer, for music lessons. What Frank doesn’t expect is getting life lessons in return.

Boom. There you have it.

Since scripts have been on my mind lately, and since mine falls in the vein of romantic comedies (although I would call it more of an anti-romance) I’ve been thinking about some of my own favorite movies that inspired my writing, films like: WHEN HARRY MET SALLY, ANNIE HALL, KISSING JESSICA STEIN, and TWO DAYS IN PARIS. I love these movies because they are smart, raw, honest, emotional, and, of course, FUNNY.

So, why am I going off on movies? Well, this month I’m taking part in a Readathon hosted by Actin’ Up With Books. Throughout the weekend there will be prizes and giveaways hosted by other authors and bloggers. If you want to hear more about the events, check out the site.

My contribution to the readathon is I will be giving away one autographed hardcover copy of FIRST COMES LOVE. To enter, tell me what your favorite romantic comedy movie is. Tweet your answer to @TheWeirdests with #Readathon any time during the readathon to be entered in the giveaway. The event ends Sunday, at midnight.

Thanks for participating. Oh, and amazing Packer win last night. Rogers completed his first Hail Mary. Oh man, it brought me to my knees.

 

 

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A HIGH NOTE

  1. GretchenH says:

    I’m not on Twitter so . . . my favorite romantic comedy is Elf. It’s a little light on the romance, but it is hilarious and stars Zooey Deschanel. Good luck with A High Note and Go Pack Go!

Comments are closed.