COVER REVEAL

As many of you have probably seen, the cover of Don’t Kiss the Messenger has been revealed. And better yet—it’s up for pre-order. This is when I get excited—when I can see links for it at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You can also order it from your local independent bookseller, and thanks to my much easier new pen name, you can remember how to spell it. It’s finally hitting me that this BOOK IS COMING OUT ON APRIL 10th!

KR_EHS1_DontKisstheMessenger FINAL COVER

Don’t Kiss the Messenger is a modern day retelling of Cyrano de Bergerac. I stayed fairly true to the story (basing it more closely off of the movie adaptation, Roxanne, which is a funnier, lighter retelling). So, if you’re familiar with the story and you want to read a modern YA twist, where Cyrano’s character is a girl, then I don’t think you’ll be disappointed!

A lot of people have been asking me, why did you write this book? There are hundreds of retellings, why choose this one? Well, I’ll be answering that in a guest post for a blog tour coming up, but I can tell you that this story is one of my favorite romances of all time (and I’m always a sucker for a good romance). I have always connected to Charlie (Cyrano’s character in Roxanne). He’s quirky, he’s a loner, and he doesn’t really seem to fit in anywhere. Man, that was me in high school. I tried to play off my sensitivity with a tough girl persona, stomping around in combat boots, but inside I was complete mush. I noticed every stare, every glance. Words cut into me like knives. I was deeply insecure.

But the thing I love about Charlie, (and Cyrano) is the underdog story line. Charlie, with wit and humor, goes after the things he wants. Despite his huge nose and the looks and judgments he faces, he realizes that he doesn’t have to change in order to win the girl. The girl who falls for him will not only be able to see past his flaws, she will love him all the more for having them.

I feel like Cyrano’s story is universal. We might not all have a huge nose (or in CeCe Edmond’s case, a scar on the right side of our face). But we all have flaws. We all harbor insecurities. And whether these are internal or external, I think we’re all a little bit afraid of being judged or mocked. But at the end of the day, the people that are worth our time and our energy will love us all the more because of our imperfections.

So, there you have it. The inspiration behind DKTM. I’ll have more news and blog tour dates coming SOON.

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.