It’s Been Far Too Long

HEEEELLLLLLOOOO my cyber friends. Sorry I have been out of touch. I hope your August Digital Detox month was a glorious success. My attempt to get unplugged was…pitiful. I failed, embarrassingly. The first day of August, I was looking at a magazine and there was a picture of Sarah Jessica Parker (whose wardrobe I would steal if I could choose one celebrity’s closet to pilfer; okay maybe Kate Middleton, but Sarah would be a close contender). Anyway, she had on these money camo jeans and she was strutting around New York all hot and bad-ass, so of course I had to get me some of those jeans. Where did I find them? Without even thinking, I went online on a digital treasure hunt looking for those jeans, which I found at Urban Outfitters. So, I broke my anti-cyber pledge in about eight freaking hours. Yep. But I did get some awesome jeans, which I rock.

Okay, lets get to the news you all are biting your nails and tapping your feet and banging your head against the wall to hear: THE RELEASE DATE FOR AWAKEN #3!! The news is: IT IS YET TO BE CONFIRMED. Blech, I know. This is when you punch your fists in the air and moan, “WHY, WHY, OH, WHY?” and then after your bout of sadness diminishes you will be filled with firing rage and you will head butt your computer screen because you hate me, and release dates and all things that are not dipped in chocolate.

I’m sorry. I did get an offer for this book, and I will be honest:  it was a crappy offer. I won’t go into all the details, and we are still negotiating terms and conditions and all the business-y stuff that grosses me out about the money side of the publishing world. Basically, Middle Ground sales have been low and HMH was going to pass on Awaken #3, but my foreign sales have been really good. So, after rejecting my manuscript and making me ball my eyes out for a week and feel like a complete failure and utter loser, they turned around and pieced together an offer that I will not accept until certain conditions are met.

I wanted to let you in on what is going on, so I don’t sound like a flake all the time. It really is the business end of things, which I can’t control without some major mind manipulation drugs.

Check back at the end of the week and I should know more. Either way, this book is written and it will be out in 2014. Pinky swear.

 

 

 

About katiekaz

I write young adult fiction. My debut novel was the dystopian science fiction novel, AWAKEN. My second novel is teen realistic fiction, titled FIRST COMES LOVE. The sequel to AWAKEN, MIDDLE GROUND, is coming out on Novmeber 20th, 2012. I also wrote a sequel to FIRST COMES LOVE, titled SECOND CHANCE. More news on the release date coming soon. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Been Far Too Long

  1. Emily says:

    I super miss you! From one of your Imagine coffee friends!

  2. Maddie Leser says:

    Hallo aus Deutschland

    First, I wish you good luck, that you could publishing Awaken 3, or in German: Maddie.
    I’ve read “Der Widerstand der Maddie Freeman” and “Maddie der Widerstand geht weiter”.
    I liked it and I’m looking forward to could read Maddie 3. And yes, I hope this book will following a book number 4 and so on. Your books are good to read.
    What I ask myself, is it possible, that you ask the translators into German and the Bastei Lübbe Verlag (Baumhaus and Boje are parts of this editor), if they could bring out Maddie 3?
    If that will be a success, than you could go to your US editor and tell it.
    In Germany we oftend become books to read with the label “the success from USA”.
    I hope you could have in Germany success and this could help you to sell Awaken 3 in the USA.
    I believe in Maddie 3, and as I told, I hope more adventures with Maddie will follow.

    Greetings
    A Maddie Reader (Leser)

    PS: If it’s possible, I would like to read also a version with the english written book plus the german version inside. It’s only a idea from me.

Comments are closed.